Etablissement Leclerc de LavalJoliette InstitutionTo Reach Us

Programs at the Etablissement Leclerc de Laval (Provincial Prison)

The Société Elizabeth Fry du Québec has intervened in prisons for more than 30 years. It offers different activities to the women of Leclerc, all of which are targeted to helping them develop social aptitudes that are necessary to their reintegration into society.

More than a hundred women per year participate in the prison programs offered by the Société Elizabeth Fry du Québec.

Release Preparation

This program with a duration of 22 hours helps women develop a personalized release plan which will help them better integrate into the community.  The sessions are comprised of periods of exchange followed by exercises and discussions based on various themes, such as communication, self-image, self-affirmation, social support, and stress management.

 The specific objectives of the program are:

  • To permit the woman to re-centre herself on her life;
  • To offer valid options to help her make responsible choices;
  • To permit her to acquire tools to assist her in her social reintegration and to avoid a return to prison.
Relapse Prevention

This program, lasting for 10 hours, gives women the opportunity to look at their present situation regarding their use of medication, alcohol and drugs while evaluating the areas in which they are particularly vulnerable.  They are sensitized to the risks of relapse and informed as to efficient ways to remain sober if they so choose.

The specific objectives of this program are:

  • Identification of factors in relapse;
  • Identification of preventive methods that respond to their real needs;
  • To gain a better understanding of the resources that are there to help them.
Anger Management

This program, offered in both short and long versions (13 and 18 hours), responds to an important need of the female prison population. The program is given in group, however an individual meeting has been added during the course of the program in order to offer more individualized help. The workshops are of an educative, preventive and therapeutic nature and aim to sensitize the participants to their way of expressing their anger.

 The specific objectives of the program are:

  • To understand and learn to manage anger;
  • To learn to deal with conflicts in a more constructive manner;
  • To find realistic alternatives to make responsible choices;
  • To prevent and diminish the risks associated with aggressive behaviour.
A Step Towards Autonomy

This program was designed in 2012 to meet the needs of women in the psychiatric and the protection sectors. The objective of the program is to work on women’s self-esteem and emotional management skills through individual counselling sessions.

Vis-à-vis

Vis-à-vis is a program that offers a short-term individual counselling for specific situations related to the distress that women in detention can experience.

The specific objectives of the program are:

  • work with women whose specific needs are not already met within the services offered in detention
  • increase the well-being and the personal development of the incarcerated woman through awareness and the transformation of her affects
  • support the participant in the process of establishing an action plan
  • help the woman increase the sense of control over her life.
Face to face

Face to face is a program designed and implemented in October 2016. It offers individual psychosocial support to women dealing with mental health issues.

Break Time

This program is offered to women who return to prison due the revocation of a parole, a temporary absence or a suspended sentence.

Bible Workshop

The SEFQ has collaborated in the implementation of this personal development project since 2004. It is offered to the participants as an opportunity for personal and spiritual growth thanks to biblical stories that present women whose life stories are comparable to theirs.

This initiative was made possible thanks to the contribution of the Congregation of Sisters of Sainte Anne.

For more information, click here.

Programs at the Joliette Institution (Federal Penitentiary)

Our organization was actively present at Joliette Institution from its opening in 1996, until an internal restructuring by the Harper government in 2015.

During these years, the Société offered a range of psychosocial rehabilitation programs inside the walls of the Institution. In fact, it was the only women’s penitentiary in Canada offering community reintegration programs provided by an community organization.  The 2003 Auditor General’s report (item 4.102) highlighted this initiative as a good practice and congratulated the partnership between the CSC and the community. Despite these positive observations, cuts imposed by the federal government since May 2011 have forced our organization to limit its services to leisure activities offered by volunteers. In 2015, the federal government has terminated the presence and the services provided to the women by our organization.

Bible Workshops

The SEFQ has collaborated in the implementation of this personal development project since 2004. It is offered to the participants as an opportunity for personal and spiritual growth thanks to biblical stories that present women whose life stories are comparable to theirs.

This initiative was made possible thanks to the contribution of the Congregation of Sisters of Sainte-Anne.

For more information, click here.

Staff at Etablissement Leclerc de Laval

Marian Larocque 
Program Facilitator
Tél.: 514.489.2116, ext.0

Chloé Gilbert-Vanasse
Program Facilitator
Tél.: 514.489.2116, ext.0

Établissement Leclerc de LavalÉtablissement JoliettePour nous joindre

Programmes à l’établissement Leclerc de Laval (prison provinciale)

La Société Elizabeth Fry du Québec intervient en prison depuis plus de 30 ans. Elle offre aux femmes de l’établissement Leclerc différentes activités dont l’objectif est de développer des aptitudes sociales nécessaires à leur réintégration sociale. Plus d’une centaine de femmes s’inscrivent et participent annuellement aux programmes de la Société Elizabeth Fry du Québec en prison.

Préparation à la sortie

Ce programme d’une durée de 22 heures aide les femmes à adopter un plan de sortie personnalisé afin de les aider à mieux s’intégrer à la communauté. Le déroulement comprend des périodes d’échanges suivies d’exercices et de discussions portant sur différents thèmes tels la communication, l’image de soi, l’affirmation de soi, le réseau social et la gestion du stress.

Les objectifs spécifiques du programme sont :

  • de leur permettre de se recentrer sur leur vie;
  • de leur offrir des options valables afin qu’elles puissent faire des choix responsables;
  • de leur permettre d’acquérir des outils afin de faciliter leur réinsertion sociale et d’éviter le retour en détention.
Sensibilisation à la toxicomanie

Le programme permet aux participantes de faire le bilan sur leur situation actuelle en lien avec leur problématique de dépendance. Elles sont amenées à identifier les situations où elles demeurent vulnérables afin de trouver de nouvelles stratégies d’adaptation permettant d’éviter la rechute.

Les objectifs spécifiques du programme sont :

  • identification des facteurs de rechute;
  • identification de méthodes préventives répondant à leurs besoins réels;
  • meilleure connaissance des ressources extérieures susceptibles de les aider.
Gestion de la colère

Ce programme, offert en versions courte et longue (13 et 18 heures), répond à un besoin important de la population carcérale féminine. L’approche de groupe demeure la modalité thérapeutique privilégiée, mais une rencontre individuelle est ajoutée en cours de programme afin d’offrir une aide plus individualisée. Les ateliers à caractère éducatif, préventif et thérapeutique visent à sensibiliser les participantes à leur façon d’exprimer leur colère.

Les objectifs spécifiques du programme sont :

  • comprendre et apprendre à gérer sa colère;
  • apprendre à gérer les conflits de manière plus constructive;
  • trouver des alternatives valables afin d’effectuer des choix responsables;
  • prévenir et diminuer les risques associés aux comportements agressifs.
Un pas vers l’autonomie

Ce programme a été conçu en 2012 dans le but de répondre aux besoins des femmes du secteur psychiatrique et du secteur de protection. Sous forme de rencontres individuelles, ce service vise à aborder les problématiques autour de l’estime de soi et de la gestion des émotions.

Vis-à-vis

Vis-à-vis est un programme qui propose un service d’accompagnement psychosocial individuel de courte durée pour des situations spécifiques, liées à la détresse que peuvent vivre les femmes en détention.

Les objectifs spécifiques du programme sont :

  • intervenir auprès d’une clientèle présentant des besoins ponctuels et qui ne se retrouvent pas parmi l’offre de services existants en détention
  • accroître le mieux-être et le développement de la personne incarcérée par la prise de conscience et la transformation de ses affects
  • établir un plan d’action avec la personne afin de la référer à la ressource appropriée
  • augmenter le sentiment de contrôle sur sa vie.
Face-à-face

Face-à-face est un programme conçu et mis en place depuis octobre 2016. Il offre des services d’accompagnement psychosocial individuel aux femmes souffrant de problème de santé mentale.

Temps d’arrêt

Ce programme s’adresse à des femmes qui vivent plus spécifiquement un retour en prison. Ce type d’intervention survient quand ces dernières voient leur libération conditionnelle ou leur permission de sortir suspendue, ou encore lorsque leur sursis est révoqué.

Ateliers bibliques

La SEFQ collabore à la mise en place de ce projet de développement personnel depuis 2004. Il est offert aux femmes comme une occasion de croissance personnelle et spirituelle à partir de récits bibliques qui présentent des femmes qui leur ressemblent par des situations de vie qu’elles peuvent comparer aux leurs. 

Cette initiative a été rendue possible grâce à la contribution de la Congrégation des Sœurs de Sainte-Anne.

Pour plus d’information, cliquez ici.

Programmes à l’Établissement Joliette (pénitencier fédéral)

Notre organisation a été présente et active à l’Établissement Joliette de son ouverture en 1996, jusqu’à une restructuration par le gouvernement Harper en 2015.

Pendant ces années, la Société a offert une gamme de programmes de réhabilitation psychosociale à l’intérieur de l’Établissement. D’ailleurs, il s’agissait du seul pénitencier pour femmes au Canada offrant des programmes de réintégration sociale dispensé par un organisme communautaire. Le rapport 2003 de la Vérificatrice générale (Rubrique 4.102) a souligné cette initiative comme étant une bonne pratique et a salué le partenariat entre le SCC et la communauté. Malgré ces observations positives, les coupures imposées par le gouvernement fédéral depuis mai 2011 ont contraint la Société à restreindre ses services aux activités de loisir offertes par les bénévoles. Puis en 2015, le gouvernement fédéral a mis fin à la présence et aux prestations de services directes de la SEFQ à l’établissement.

Ateliers bibliques

La SEFQ collabore à la mise en place de ce projet de développement personnel depuis 2004. Il est offert aux femmes de l’Établissement Joliette comme une occasion de croissance personnelle et spirituelle à partir de récits bibliques qui présentent des femmes qui leur ressemblent par des situations de vie qu’elles peuvent comparer aux leurs.

Cette initiative a été rendue possible grâce à la contribution de la Congrégation des Sœurs de Sainte-Anne.

Pour plus d’information, cliquez ici.

Équipe à l’établissement Leclerc de Laval

Marian Larocque 
Agente de programmes
Tél.: 514.489.2116, poste 0

Chloé Gilbert-Vanasse
Agente de programmes
Tél.: 514.489.2116, poste 0